Findings on Victimization by Sexual Orientation:

Implications for Preventing Sexual Violence and IPV in LBGT Communities

In January 2013, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention released a new report, The National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey: 2010 Findings on Victimization by Sexual Orientation, that shows that lesbian, gay and bisexual (LGB) people experience sexual violence and intimate partner violence at the same or higher rates as heterosexual people. In the web conference, CDC’s MikelWalters will describe the findings of the report. We will then explore the implications for developing, implementation and evaluating sexual violence and intimate partner violence prevention efforts in LGBT communities.

Date: Tuesday, March 5, 2013

This ninety-minute (90 min) session will start at 11 AM Pacific Standard

(2 PM Eastern, 1 PM Central, Noon Mountain, 10 AM Alaska, 8 AM Hawai’i).

Host: David Lee, CALCASA, PreventConnect

Cost: Free

Presenters:

Objectives:

By the end of the presentation, participants will be able to

  1. describe the findings from the CDC’s NISVS 2010 Findings on Victimization by Sexual Orientation
  2. identify opportunities for advancing SV and IPV prevention in LGBT communities
  3. identify resources for SV and IPV prevention in LGBT communities

Audience:

Prevention practitioners, domestic violence organizations, sexual violence organizations, public health, LGBTQ organizations

Register Now

Source: PreventConnect